Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Standard

Hello there!

I was bored, so I decided to make a cake.

A sour cream coffee cake. I have loved coffee cake since I was a little girl using the Bisquick mix (to be honest, sometimes I crave that coffee cake in particular). Anyway, this is a really simple recipe. Easy-peasy. Watch!

1 1/2 Cups Flour

1 Cup Sugar

2 teaspoons Baking POWDER

1/2 teaspoon Baking SODA

(I capitalize the difference because you’re a busy person, with better things to do than pay attention to second words in two word ingredients. I understand. I’ve been there. Its all about ME helping YOU.)

1/4 teaspoon salt (I always add a pinch more. I think more salt makes sweet better.)

2 eggs

1 cup Sour Cream

1 teaspoon Vanilla

Preheat your oven to 350. I picked a souffle pan, cause I wanted a taller round cake. See! Ooooh fancy.

Mix your dry ingredients, then mix in your wet ingredients. Compliment your measuring cups for being adorable.

Tada. You have a cake batter. Pour it into the pan you picked. Tell it how pretty it is. So pretty.

Whats a coffee cake without a crumble? Oooh. Look at that crumble on top. Sexy.

That particular crumble is my mom’s snickerdoodle recipe, cookies made by my sister in law, crumbled, mixed with an instant mulling spice  and sprinkled on top of the batter.

Oh. You just know that is going to be tasty.

If you don’t have my mom’s snickerdoodle recipe, my sister in law to make cookies for you or instant mulling spice, you can always do a basic butter, flour, sugar, cinnamon crumble. That’s good too.

Bake for about 35-40 minutes, until your tester comes out clean. DON’T USE YOUR FINGER. The cake is hot and hot things burn. I promise. Use a toothpick or something similar.

Now, if you want to be some kind of fancy, you can add fruit, like apples, blueberries, lemon curd, chocolate chips, etc. Just fold them into your pretty batter before you pour it into the pan. Make your crumble suit you. Some of you might like cocoa more than cinnamon. Some of you might just dig nutmeg. The nice thing about this recipe is that its super basic. You can make it special. Just like you.

If you’re like me, you don’t bother with silly little things like timers. Feh. Who needs timers? That’s what a twitter feed is for.

This is one sexy cake after 40 minutes.

Cakes should never be jiggly. They should make you jiggly. Its a bit jiggly, so it needs to go back in. With a taller pan, this will take longer. Back into the oven for this beauty.

Oh, you want this cake. You neeeeed this cake. This cake was made for you. Well, not this cake, per se, because I made this for me, but its gorgeous.

Lets open this baby up.

Look at how fluffy and pretty that is. The flavor is nice and smooth, crumbly topping adding just a nice crunch. Its amazing. As you’re eating this cake, you tell that cake how wonderful it is.

Enjoy yourself!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Triple Berry Crumble « strawberry ginger

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon Streusel Coffee Cake | What's On the Stove?

Leave a comment