Her heart grew three sizes that day #reverb11

Standard

Being Moved – tell us about a time this year that you were moved by the generosity of another.

I feel as if this might be repeating myself, but I cannot stress enough how much I owe the current sanity of my life to my friends. They saved me. Leslie as we knew her was eroding away under the constant tears and pain. It was noticed and I was saved.

While I may not be able to say I don’t have friends, I feel as if I’ve always been a bad friend. Mainly because I don’t want to burden people with my problems. Lori forced me to accept her help, to ask for it, and to stop feeling guilty about it. Her favorite thing to say to me was along the lines of “Shut the fuck up. Would you do this for me if I was in your situation?” to which I would answer, “Yes of course, but…” “But nothing. Shut the fuck up and stop telling me how to be a friend.” Maybe it’s not verbatim, but its close. There were probably more “fuck”s in there.

Her love forced me to open up and relax. She showed me what true sisterhood was. I can talk about her loaning and then selling me her car, I can talk about how she helped me financially, but ultimately, she was the one that made me wake up. Lori gave me her love unconditionally. She laughed with me, cried with me, railed against life with me. I’m part of her family now. Because of her, I have learned how to be a friend.

I’m still trying, learning.

Dixie is my second hero. I can thank her for my home, my job, etc. What I can’t ever thank her enough for is the support that she’s given. Again, we bonded over laughter and tears, shocked at how similar our patterns were. I’ve never seen tears flow the way that Dixie’s do, and it has taught me that I’m allowed to cry too. When life hurts, tears are okay. They are a part of healing. She’s helped me laugh over ridiculous things and given me love and happiness.

I am awed by the generosity of my friends. They are the reason I can stand up. They are the reason I am myself again. I am moved to tears when I think about all they have done and will continue to do for me. Not because they have to, but just because they love me. I strive to be like them.

2 responses »

  1. I think you give back in ways you don’t even realize, Leslie. Friends like that are a blessing as I am certain you are to them as well.

Leave a Reply

