Pork Pasty Part 1

Standard

There is no way to say “I’m making pork pasties” without it looking like I mean nipple coverings made of pork. I assure you this is not the case. What you do with this recipe in the privacy of your own home is your own business. Just remember stuff off the stove is HOT and will burn you.

A pasty (pronounced with short a, like ACK!) is what hot pockets were before Hot Pocket started making them. Its dough, filled with goodness of a meat variety. Every culture has them: Pasty is English, or Irish, empanada is Spanish, calzone is Italian, samosa is Arabic. I’m going with Pasty because the filling that I’m using is more towards that flavor profile. Later, I’m going to make strawberry turnovers, which are just sweet pasties.

This is a labor intensive project. The payoff is a freezer full of grab and go meals that you made yourself. YAAAY!

So lets start with the filling.

1Onion

2 Celery stalks

1 Leek (just the rough greens, save the whites for another meal)

2 Parsnips

2 Carrots

4 cloves of Garlic

Sage, Basil, Salt, Pepper, Chicken Broth

Make sure you have a GIANT pan on your TEENY tiny stove.

Okay, maybe you have a regular stove. Still, use your big pan. Saute your onions and leeks first, getting some color on them so that you start to release a little of the sugars. Caramelization is delicious and easy. Add your celery and parsnips. Notice that I didn’t really concern myself with a dice for the parsnips and carrots.

That’s cause I’m going to puree a good portion of it. YEAH. You heard me. Puree.

Add your bundle of sage after you let it all cook down a bit. I’ve added dried basil, salt and pepper, and coarsely chopped garlic. Tell your food how pretty it is, cause that right there? That’s sexy.

Bathe it in broth. I used chicken. You can use veggie or beef or pork or German children that ate candy off the side of your house in the woods. We’re adding liquid because we’re braising the meat. That means “to cook slowly in liquid so meat gets all fall aparty and makes people salivate.” The dictionary says that, I promise. Shut up. That’s what my dictionary says about it.

Now that its all cooked, set it to the side. I poured it into my crock pot cause I have to do dishes by hand, so lets use as few as possible!

We are dredging the pork. Sounds mean, but its not. Its code for “make tasty.”

This is Dredge. Say “Hi,” Dredge.

No? Well okay.

Dredge is made with a 1/2 cup flour, 2 tablespoons of my sage brown sugar rub, and a little seasoned salt. I don’t have exact measurements, so my sage brown sugar rub is equal parts salt and brown sugar, with sage and black pepper mixed in…-ish. You want sweet, but that pepper needs to kick you a little. Not a lot, but like a shin kick. You know it happened. Its okay that there’s a good amount of salt in the dredge. Not all of it is being used and you’re slow cooking the crap out of it. Salt is good.

Get your pan ready with a good coating of oil, and make sure its hot. If you’re not sure, flick a drop of water and it will be all “SSSSSSSSSSS” like its complimenting you for being so hot. Because you are. Hey, good lookin’. Whatchu got cookin’?

Ahem. Right. We’re dredging… Dredge the pork.

Cover all of its sides and nooks and crannies. Oooooh yeah.

Now, brown those suckers. You’re not trying to cook them, just seal in all the juicy goodness.

While you’re letting that brown, lets go puree our veggies.

Scoop about a cup of your sexy veggies into your blender and add a cup of water. Blend until smooth. Add that back to your veggies and stir. Puree another cup of veggies with another cup of water and you have something that looks like this.

DO NOT PUREE YOUR SAGE BUNDLE. Leave it alone. It just wants to hang out and make everything delicious. Let it do what it wants.

Let’s check on our pork.

Oh gods, yes. Thank you. Now, because they’re so beautiful, NESTLE them into the veggies. Gently, with love. Because they deserve it.

See how happy they look?

Now, cover and set on high for two hours. Or Low for 4. I’m nosy, so I’m gonna check on them before all that. It may take longer. Thats okay. Let it cook at it’s own pace. It should fall apart when it looks at a fork.

I’ll see you for Pork Pasty Part 2!

3 responses »

  1. No pressure because I know from the next post what your life has been like, but I just want you to know that the day you do post the second part of this recipe, I’m going to drop EVERYTHING and go to the store for supplies. Because WOW. (Also, I am super excited to use my German children broth, which has been hanging out in the freezer just for this.)

  2. Pingback: Waiting for Pork Pasty Part 2? | astateofjoy

Leave a Reply

